RECENT READ: Just Fall by Nina Sadowsky

SynopsisBalanced on the razor edge of moral ambiguity, this sexy and seductive debut novel asks: How can you find out that the person you love is a killer…and continue to love him anyway? Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Sandra Brown, and Erica Spindler.

On the night of her wedding to Rob, Ellie’s perfect world suddenly collapses. Her suave, charming, sophisticated husband is not the man she believed him to be. Could he really be a killer?

Ellie is rapidly swept into a lethal vortex of betrayal, lies, and uncertainty: Who is the man she married, really?

And how far will she go to protect him?

From Manhattan to the Caribbean, Rob and Ellie struggle to escape the grip of Rob’s former life – a life his employers are determined to ensnare him in for good.

When faced with a terrible choice—to become a murderess herself to save the man she loves, or to let him die—Ellie’s decision propels her into a whiplash-paced adventure, filled with cinematic twists and a startling sense of unease.

BUY BOOK: Paperback * Kindle-Ebook

Review

I’m a sucker for mysteries and if they have a bit of romance the better. Just Fall debut novel of Nina Sadowsky, who was executive producer  for the Wedding Planner was just that, mysterious with a touch of romance.

Two newlyweds, a shocking confession, a murder scene two different locations, New York (Then), St. Lucia (Now). I found the part that instead of chapters there is “Now” and “Then” and I liked that. Obviously “now” is the present time and “then” flashbacks to the past, it makes it easier to transition without confusion to the past. “Then” providing a backstory to Rob and Elli.

I was enthralled in the “Now” more so than the “Then” I wanted to rush through “then” to catch up with the present and at times I found myself skimming through “then” to speed up the process. I found the order in which the past is told a bit distracting and at times annoying as it went from one time to another in no order. The present time (now) was in a chronological order… easy to follow.

I found the development of the characters flat, but the suspense and mystery had me disregarding that aspect. However, I did like the fact that no one was clean or “whole” both Elli and Rob had their secrets and past.

Overall it was an ok read, nothing memorable but it occupied my mind for a while.

3.5 STARS

*ARC provided by Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine through NetGalley*.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s